Entertainment » Theatre

Get Your Tickets When Bebe Neuwirth Hosts Chita Rivera Awards on Broadway

Friday Sep 1, 2017

Get your tickets now when two-time Tony and two-time Emmy Award winner Bebe Neuwirth hosts the Chita Rivera Awards, taking place at The Al Hirschfeld Theatre on Monday, September 11 at 7:30 p.m.
The evening will include performances by Robert Fairchild and Melanie Moore, dancing a duet from "La La Land," "A Bronx Tale," "Come From Away," Off-Broadway's "Sweet Charity" and previously announced performances by The New York City Ballet honoring Rivera, and ADM21 performing "We'll Take A Glass Together" from "Grand Hotel" to honor Tommy Tune. There will also be ensembles from "Bandstand," "Cats," "Hello, Dolly!," "Holiday Inn," and "Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812."
Theater and dance legend Tommy Tune will be presented with the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award, Diane Paulus will receive the Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theater Award as director, and Antonio Vendome will receive the Outstanding Contribution to the Arts and Humanities Award.

Expected attendees include Donna McKecknie, Priscilla Lopez, Baayork Lee, Nicole Fosse, Carmen De Lavallade, Tony Yazbeck, Randy Skinner, Joshua Bergasse, Marcia Milgrom Dodge, Andy Blankenbuehler, Robert Fairchild, Melanie Moore, Warren Carlyle, Pam MacKinnon, Emily Padgett and Sergio Trujillo.

The mission of the Chita Rivera Awards is to celebrate dance and choreographic excellence, and the awards seek to continue that vision by not only celebrating the superb achievement of each nominee but by recognizing the immeasurable talents and passion of every theatrical choreographer and dancer.

Nominators considered outstanding choreography, featured dancers and ensemble in shows on Broadway and Off Broadway, as well as, outstanding choreography in film, that opened in the 2016-2017 season. Nominations for the productions under consideration this season were determined by the designated Nominating Committees. There are separate Nominating Committees for Broadway, Off Broadway and Film. There is an Awarding Committee for Broadway, which determines the final nominations that are received from the Broadway Nominations Committee.

The event will begin at 6 p.m. on Monday, September 11, with arrivals at the Al Hirschfeld Theatre at 302 W. 45th Street, followed by the awards ceremony and show, capped with a party at Sardi's at 234 W. 44th Street at 9:30 p.m.

Ticket prices are as follows: $100 for the Awards show only, $500 for the Awards show and VIP after party at Sardi's, and $5,000 for Awards show and table of 10 at the VIP after party at Sardi's.


Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show:
Andy Blankenbuehler, "Bandstand"
Josh Bergasse, "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory"
Warren Carlyle, "Hello Dolly!"
Peter Darling and Ellen Kane, "Groundhog Day"
Kelly Devine, "Come from Away"
Denis Jones, "Holiday Inn"
Sergio Trujillo, "A Bronx Tale"
Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show:
"A Bronx Tale"
"Come from Away"
"Hello Dolly!"
"Holiday Inn"
"Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812"
Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show:
Corbin Bleu, "Holiday Inn"
John Bolton, "Anastasia"
Max Clayton, "Bandstand"
Tyler Hanes, "Cats" 
Ryan Kasprzak,"Bandstand"
Ricky Ubeda, "Cats"
Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show:
Andrea Dotto, "Bandstand" 
Lora Lee Gayer, "Holiday Inn"
Eloise Kropp, "Cats"
Georgina Pazcoguin, "Cats"
Emma Pfaeffle, "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory"
Megan Sikora, "Holiday Inn"
Christine Cornish Smith, "Cats"
Jaime Verazin, "Bandstand"
Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show:
Joshua Bergasse, "Sweet Charity"
David Dorfman, "Indecent"
Merete Muenter, "The Golden Bride"
David Neumann, "The Total Bent"
Misha Shields, "Baghdaddy"
Outstanding Female Dancer in an Off-Broadway Show:
Yesenia Ayala, "Sweet Charity"
Asmeret Ghebremichael, "Sweet Charity"
Nikka Graff Lanzarone, "Sweet Charity"
Emily Padgett, "Sweet Charity"
Lyrica Woodruff, "Finian's Rainbow"
Outstanding Male Dancer in an Off-Broadway Show:
Ato Blankson-Wood, "The Total Bent"
Brandon Espinoza, "Baghdaddy"
Curtis Wiley, "The Total Bent"
Cody Williams, "Sweet Charity"
Blake Zolfo, "Kid Victory"

For tickets or information, visit www.ChitaRiveraAwards.com


Add New Comment

Comments on Facebook